Lower Levels Wrap Up and CHSL Awards

Posted by Atif Lodhi on Oct 28 2006 at 05:00PM PDT
While the varsity football team has been experiencing great success this 2006 season, the lower level teams have also been experiencing success as well. The Junior Varsity football team, with Head Coach Dave Dudus, and assistants Joe Pagano (DLS '86), Erich Goetz, A.C. Cox, and Scott Grimmer, went 5-3 overall, 3-2 in league play. This is the second straight season the JV finished with a winning record, first time that has happened since the 1996 and 1997 JV football teams. The JV beat Catholic Central for the first time since 1995 and were in contention for the Central Division title right until their last game of the season. Congrats to the JV for a fine season! The Freshmen football team, with Head Coach Rick Desotell, and assistants Greg Hoskins, Ron Bonin, Dennis Pascoe, and Matt Cook, not only won the Central Division for the first time since 1991, but also were the first DLS freshman football team ever to go undefeated for the season. This team demolished everyone in their path, with the closest game being 15 point win for the Pilots over Brother Rice. The freshmen defeated Catholic Central for the first time since 1995 and Brother Rice for the first time since 1993. Congrats to the Freshman to a great season! Some of the De La Salle Varsity football players also earned accolades for their accomplishments during the league season: All-Catholic Jimmy Berezik Don Fowler Alex Hillman Anthony Sabatella Shane Torzy (Note: Shane Torzy becomes the third person from his family to be an All-Catholic football player at De La Salle - his grandfather, Joe Torzewski (Torzy), was an All-Catholic football player in 1937 and 1938 and his father, Mark Torzy, was an All-Catholic football player in 1974.) All-League Dan Karam Sam Lentine Anthony Vitale Honorable Mention All-League Brian Lewis John Martinez Jimmy Martinez Chad O'Shell Mike Riley Central Division Coach of the Year Paul Verska Congratulations to all those who have garnered awards so far this year!


There are no comments for this announcement.