2011 Empire Football League News

Posted by Troy Ashcraft on Mar 22 2011 at 05:00PM PDT
Saturday, March 12

Empire Football League Press Release March 12, 2011 

(877) 624-4485



The Empire Football League recently held its scheduling meeting in Albany, NY and announced that the Syracuse Shock, Elmira Evolution, Albany Metro Mallers, Glens Falls Greenjackets and Montreal Voyageurs have joined the Empire Football League. The Albany Metro Mallers and Glens Falls Greenjackets are previous multiyear league champs while the Greenjackets are an original EFL charter member.  The Montreal Voyageurs rganization was resurrected from the original 1990s EFL franchise by owners Barry Keeler and Kennis Davis.


The EFL will consist of the following  9 teams for the 2011 season:

  • Albany Metro Mallers      
  •  Amsterdam Zephyrs
  •  Elmira Evolution
  • Glens Falls Greenjackets
  • Montreal Voyageurs        
  • Plattsburgh North Stars
  • Syracuse Shock
  • Vermont Ice Storm
  • Watertown Red & Black

 The EFL season starts July 9th, has a bye September 3rd and ends October 1st .  The EFL Playoffs will begin on October 8th and will conclude with the EFL Championship Game on October 22nd.    


The following are the 2011 Empire Football League Officers:

  • Dave Burch, EFL Commissioner
  • Bill Higgins, Commissioner of Officials
  • Concetta Sager, Treasurer
  • Al Dole, Deputy Commissioner
  • Alvin Lollie, Deputy Commissioner
  • Jane Dole, Secretary
  • Gary Shaver, EFL Advisor


There are no comments for this announcement.