Posted by Eastern District Soccer League on Dec 06 2016 at 01:24PM PST
  • EASTERN DISTRICT SOCCER LEAGUE* “2016 Championship Dinner”
    The Eastern District Soccer League held its Annual Championship Dinner on Friday, October 14th at the Yonkers Ukrainian Club in Yonkers NY. Once again the dinner drew a packed house with each of the EDSL Divisions sending their champions to receive their awards and the recognition they so justly deserve. The Eastern New York State Soccer Association, the new Eastern District Referee Association and Eastern New York State Executive Board were also in attendance to commend the Eastern District Soccer League and its champions for another outstanding season.

The Annual dinner dance is not just presented to honor its champions but also to promote sportsmanship between the EDSL Divisions. It is a time to put the heated battle of the game aside and enjoy the company of its outstanding competitors and forge friendships that will last a lifetime.

This years event also recognized 3 outstanding individuals and organizations who have taken their love of soccer to the next level and worked feverishly to promote fair play and sportsmanship. The first award, presented by EDRA Galo Trujillo and EDSL President Peter Pinori, went to David Bork “Soccer Official Extraordinaire” for his “passion for the game and work ethic to provide a fair and just environment has left a tremendous positive impact on players and coaches alike.”

The second award was given to the members of the Open EDSL Ossining Portuguese Soccer Club and presented by Albino Guimaraes and Peter Pinori. The award was given “in recognition of your 30 years of service and dedication to the Eastern District Soccer League.

The third award as was given to the Germania Soccer club who has currently 6 teams playing in the EDSL as the Soccer Ambassadors of the year award

Of course the main reason for our dinner is to recognize our Champions. Awards and recognition was given to:
Peter Pinori introduced Mary Howansky who presented the Steve Howansky Open Division cup, VP Abe Rochester presented the Open division championship cup to Yonkers Ukraininans, Treasurer Casimir Krempa presented the Open division Playoff cup to Yonkers Ukrainians

O40 A division the Germania was the winner John Jorgensen Cup presented by president Lori Bregelmann
O40 B division Hudson Valley won and was promoted to the A division for this year presented by Peter Sedlmeier
O30 Division winner was Czechoslovakia and O30 Chairman John Palumbo presented their trophy
Mount Kisco division winners where presented Chairman Galo Trujillo who gave Mt Kisco International and Finalist Deportivo Atlas their cups for winning the regular season and the playoff. Galo also presented 3 individual trophies for best goalie, highest scorer and most disciplined player.
Port Chester Chairman Cesar Aliaga than presented the winners of his division playoff finalist Westchester CF and over all Champion C. A. Tumi who also won $1500 prize winnings.
German Mena Co-chairman of the Liga De Yonkers division came next and presented EL Salvador their trophy for becoming a finalist and Honduras for being the Champion.
The last presentations of the evening where for the EDSL $5,000 Champions Cup tournament
4th place and $300 to CA Tumi
3rd place and $500 to Yonkers Ukrainians
2nd place and $1,200 to Honduras
1st place and champion of the EDSL Westchester CF $3,000 and individual players medals


There are no comments for this announcement.